Matthew O'Callaghan, President

Member since 26 March 2020, appointed until 25 March 2023

Matthew O’Callaghan was a Senior Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission and the former Australian Industrial Relations Commission from 2001 to his retirement in 2017. He was involved in workplace relations issues throughout Australia with primary involvement in South Australia and Western Australia.

Matthew has held senior roles in the South Australian Public Sector.  He was formerly the Chief Executive of the South Australian Department of Industrial Affairs and was, at various times, responsible for printing, fleet management, forensic science and other functions.

Before entering the public service, Matthew was the Chief Executive of the South Australian Employer’s Federation, which has subsequently become Business SA. He has had particularly extensive involvement in major civil and mechanical construction projects throughout Australia. He commenced his workplace relations career with BHP in the Whyalla Steelworks.

Deb Black, Member

Member since 2 October 2020, appointment until 1 October 2023

Deb is a Chair, Non-Executive Director, and Board Member with over twenty years board level experience across the commercial and not-for-profit sectors with particular experience in superannuation, financial services, community service industries. At board level highlights include: Chair of the Resolution Institute SA Chapter where she engaged with industry bodies to develop relationships and broaden their understanding of Alternative Dispute Resolution options for their members, and Board Member of the Adelaide Cemeteries Authority where she chaired the Finance and Risk Management Committee and overhauled the risk framework and accounting operating systems. In an executive capacity Deb is currently a Managing Consultant of Blackforrest Consulting and a Restorative Justice Practitioner and Facilitator with The Centre for Restorative Justice.  Deb works with clients to resolve, or assist in developing skills to resolve conflict constructively, thus providing positive impacts on mental health and safety. Previously Deb was the Executive Director of the Finance Sector Union. Finally, Deb has a Bachelor of Social Science (Human Services), a Graduate Certificate in Mediation, a Diploma in Professional Counselling, and is a graduate of the AICD’s Company Directors Course.

Peter de Cure AM, Member

Member since 2 October 2020, appointment until 1 October 2023

Peter is a professional Non-Executive Director. He holds a Bachelor of Economics from Adelaide University and is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors and Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand.  After 25 years at KPMG Peter retired as a senior partner in 2012.

Peter is currently, Chairman of the Royal Flying Doctor Service-Central Operations, Accord Property Development Pty Ltd, the Gifford Hill Joint Venture, Wirra Wirra Vineyards and presiding member of the South Australian Fire and Emergency Services Commission.  Peter is a Director of Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia, a member of the Tax Practitioner’s Board and advisory Chairman of Tim Adams Wines.