The Remuneration Tribunal is an independent Tribunal established to review and determine salaries, allowances and other entitlements for certain public office holders in South Australia.

The Remuneration Tribunal has been performing these functions since it was established in 1990 by the Remuneration Act 1990 (Act). Prior to 1990, the functions were performed by other statutory Tribunals established by other Acts of Parliament.

The legislative scheme under which the Tribunal operates allows it to review and to make Determinations of remuneration for the following office holders:

  • Members of the Parliament;
  • Members of the Judiciary;
  • Presidential Members of the South Australian Civil and Administrative Tribunal;
  • Presidential Members of the South Australian Employment Tribunal;
  • Members of the Parole Board;
  • Certain specified Statutory Office Holders;
  • His Excellency the Governor of South Australia;
  • Members of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission;
  • Elected Members of Local Government Councils; and
  • CEOs of Local Government Councils.

The Tribunal conducts reviews of its Determinations on an annual basis, or according to the time period specified in any applicable legislation.

Section 18 of the Act provides that a Determination of the Remuneration Tribunal is not subject to appeal.

Section 11(1) of the Act provides that the Remuneration Tribunal has the powers of the Royal Commission and section 11(2) of the Act provides that the provisions of the Royal Commissions Act 1917 apply to and in relation to the Tribunal as if it were a Royal Commission.

Copies of Remuneration Tribunal Reports and Determinations are published on this website and are also published in the Government Gazette.